thank goodness for special needs blogs

Parenting a severely disabled child can be an extremely isolating experience. But thanks to the Internet, it doesn’t always have to be this way.  Without a doubt, reading the poignant words of families who are also on this journey has been essential in maintaining a healthy state of mind about our own extraordinary circumstances. Whereas our blog is mostly medical updates and photos for friends and family, these get into the heart of special needs parenting and the world is a better place as a result. Below are a list of some of the wonderful blogs that I am so thankful are in existence!

Over at the Bloom Special Needs Blog, Louise chronicles the trials and triumphs of dear Ben, regularly tackles difficult issues that come up in the realm of special needs parenting, and serves as a pulse for interesting special needs books and media stories. A couple posts that particularly resonated with me:
When there isn’t a happy ending
A fate worse than death?
Friends in need, friends indeed

Stacie, over at Mama Lewis and the Amazing Adventures of the Half-Brained Baby, blogs about her cutie pie daughter, May.
A Hero or Just a Parent? from the New York Times Motherlode blog
If she can do this, I can from The Guardian
What’s God’s plan for May?

Jennifer, over at YES or NO: Raising a boy with multiple severe disabilities, has recently published a memoir about her experiences raising Owen who passed away last year at the age of 12. In addition to finding her writings on accepting your special needs child especially thought-provoking, I love that she writes about her other son, Angus, in relation to Owen as well.
On fake work, cheerful pretend, and hope as snake oil
It’s enough to break your heart wide open

I’ve included Kelly’s blog, Unlock the Secret Voice, because I’ve found no other blog that addresses the content that she does. Kelly recently made the extraordinarily difficult decision to place her severely disabled teenage son in a residential home. Her writings about the experience are brutally honest and filled with so much love for her child that it will make your heart hurt.

Other wonderful blogs:
Love That Max
Bird on the Street
The Gort Family
Caleigh’s Corner
How Life Happens
Elijahland
Thinking of Starting a Blog
Outrageous Fortune

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to thank goodness for special needs blogs

  1. Lina says:

    Jenn, I was just telling some friends about what a blessing and service the early birdies is to so many parents out there, for the same reasons that you just mentioned!

  2. I’m so grateful to you for including BLOOM here!

    How is Andrew’s feeding tube going? Hopefully it is almost fully healed? Ben had a g-tube for a couple of years (due to his growth problems) and it became a pretty normal part of everyday life.

    I think I found Unlock the secret through your blog and I agree that it has fascinating content.

    Thanks again for including us! Louise

  3. Tim Gort says:

    Jenn – thanks for including us in your list of “wonderful blogs!” If I can help you with any feeding tube questions, please let me know – we have two in our house! Looking forward to reading more from you and learning.

    Tim

  4. Alicia D says:

    I know of some of these bloggers, but not all. thank you for the resources!

  5. Kristina says:

    Thanks so much for including me. I feel so honored! I also agree – the internet can make this journey less isolating. We also attend a support group at our local children’s hospital and that has turned out to be a great blessing, too!

  6. Barbara says:

    I’ve interacted with everyone of the blogs you mention – an excellent group, and in which I think SingleDad deserves inclusion. While I am no longer actively blogging there’s still plenty of mine to read…

    I’ve learned so much from parent-bloggers. Thank you for sharing your experience, too.

  7. I’m a bit late in seeing this, but thank you for including me amongst this esteemed list! Best wishes – Eleanor and Andrew are two serious cuties! Just saw the photo of the two of you smiling on the homepage. How gorgeous is that!

  8. I started a program of arts education for people with special needs. We specialize in dance, music, art, and musical theater. Does anyone know of any programs like many anywhere in the country?? Please let me know!
    jenkinsdebra@me.com
    http://www.merrimackhall.com/johnnystallings.html
    http://merrimackhall.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

